Free listening

Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world; indeed, it's the only thing that ever has.
Margaret Mead

WORLD DAY of LISTENING“ is a Facebook group initiated during the World Focusing Conference in 2016 in Cambridge. I participated in Greg Madison’s workshop “Focusing and Radical Democratic Change”. At the end of the week the participants in this workshop agreed that we wanted to continue with our ideas. And this is how this group started. The group has grown from originally around 20 to over 1,000 members in the meantime.

The basic idea is that we believe that only very few people ever experience what it means to really be listened to in a mindful, appreciative and non-judgemental way. The world would be quite a different place if many people experienced – and better still practised – this kind of listening. So we planned a World Day of Listening for 21st October 2016. The feed-back was gigantic. All around the world people gathered to offer this kind of listening in public spaces.

I myself offered a test run in Rome at the Campo di Fiori in September 2016  and was very touched by the response I got. On 21st October I was sitting on a bench on Stuttgart’s Schlossplatz. In spite of the rather chilly temperatures people accepted my offer of free listening (see photo).

I am now equipped with two small fold-up chairs and a sign saying “Free listening” on one and “Ein offenes Ohr” on the other side and offer this form of Social Sculpture spontaneously during my travels. And of course, I will participate in the World Day of Listening in 2017.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

free listening in Campo di Fiori, Rome.

free listening in Amsterdam

free listening in Puerto Calero, Lanzarote

am World Day of Free Listening in Stuttgart

Free listening im Görlitzer Park Berlin im September 2018

Free listening in Kairo, März 2019

Free listening

„Zweifle nie daran, dass eine kleine Gruppe engagierter Menschen die Welt verändern kann - tatsächlich ist dies die einzige Art und Weise, in der die Welt jemals verändert wurde.“ (Margaret Mead)

„WORLD DAY of LISTENING 2017“ ist eine Facebook-Gruppe, die sich während der Welt-Focusing-Konferenz 2016 gebildet hat. Greg Madison leitete damals die Arbeitsgruppe „Focusing and Radical Democratic Change“, an der ich teilnahm. Am Ende der Woche war uns klar, dass wir nicht einfach so auseinander gehen wollten, sondern unsere Ideen auch danach weiter verfolgen wollen. Und so entstand diese Gruppe, die von anfangs ca. 20 Menschen auf mittlerweile mehr als 1000 angewachsen ist.
Der Grundgedanke ist, dass die meisten Menschen nie erleben, was es heißt, dass man ihnen wirklich zuhört: achtsam, wertschätzend, nicht-urteilend. Die Welt wäre anders, wenn viele Menschen diese Form des Zuhörens erleben – und noch besser selbst pflegen – würden. Wir planten einen Welt-Zuhör-Tag am 21.10.2016. Die Resonanz war überwältigend. Rund um die Welt haben Menschen sich zusammen gefunden, um diese Art des Zuhörens im öffentlichen Raum anzubieten.

Ich selbst habe schon vorher in Rom am Campo di Fiori einen Testlauf gemacht und war sehr berührt, von dem Erlebnis. Am 21.10.2016 war ich dann in Stuttgart im Schlossgarten, wo Menschen, trotz der nicht gerade warmen Temperaturen, das Angebot wahrnahmen. Siehe auch Fotos.

Mittlerweile bin ich mit einem kleinen Schild und zwei Mini-Campingstühlen ausgerüstet und biete diese Form der Sozialen Plastik immer wieder spontan während meiner Reisen an. Und natürlich werde ich auch bei unserem nächsten World Day of Listening 2017 teilnehmen.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mein Free-Listening-Platz am Campo di Fiori in Rom.

free listening in Amsterdam

free listening in Puerto Calero, Lanzarote

am World Day of Free Listening in Stuttgart

Free listening im Görlitzer Park Berlin im September 2018